Achievement Committee

Achievement Committee

Mission:  To publicly recognize special efforts by, for and on behalf of farriers in various areas of activity.

Chairman:  Garrett Maloney, CJF

Office Liaison: Rachel Heighton

EC Liaison: John Blombach, CJF

Members: Roy Williams, CF, Don Gustafson, CJF and Eric Nygaard, CJF, Greg Johnson, CF


At the 1987 AFA Convention banquet in Raleigh, NC, members honored Paul Hulsman of California for his outstanding contributions to the industry.  Through this gesture, the Achievement Committee was born.

Beginning the following year, in 1988, the AFA opened the awards program full-scale, soliciting votes from the general membership, asking members to recognize their peers who have made outstanding contributions to our industry.

Presented each year at the Annual Banquet, these awards signal the end of convention, yet they remind us of the strength of our industry and the commitment that comes from our volunteer base as we set standards for the farrier profession.

2014 Achievement Nominations Form

At this year’s Banquet in Reno, NV, the following awards were presented:

2014 Achievement Award Winners
Certified Farrier Written High Score – Eleanor Pugh, CF
Certified Farrier Practical High Score – Dillon Kaiser, CF
Certified Tradesman Farrier Written High Score – Frank Urraro, CF
Certified Tradesman Farrier Practical High Score – Frank Urraro, CF
Certified Journeyman Farrier Written High Score – Remington Leach, CF
Certified Journeyman Farrier Practical High Score – Jaime Osbrink, CJF

Alan Smith Award For Excellence in Administration:  In recognition of outstanding ability to organize and implement farrier functions.

2014 Recipient:  Myron McLane, CJF

Jim Linzy Outstanding Clinician Award:  In recognition of exceptional abilities exhibited while conducting farrier clinics.

2014 Recipient:  Travis Koons, CJF

J. Scott Simpson Outstanding Educator Award:  In recognition of outstanding service and dedication to the field of farrier education.

2014 Recipient:  Chris Gregory, CJF, FWCF

Edward Martin Humanitarian Award:  In sincere appreciation for an active effort to promote goodwill in the farrier profession.

2014 Recipient:  Marguerite Paige

Journalism Award:  For meritorious service in collecting, editing, and presenting information of interest to  farriers.

2014 Recipient:  Dennis Manning, CJF

Walt Taylor Award:  In recognition of unlimited service, distinguished contributions, and unselfish devotion to the farrier industry.

2014 Recipient:  Bill Miller, CJF

Sharon Walker Memorial Chapter Newsletter Award:  To the best newsletter from an AFA Chapter or recognized group.

2014 Recipient:  Western States Farriers Association

General Interest Article Award:  business articles, short stories, editorials, etc about anything AFA related.

2014 Recipient:  Don Gustafson, CJF